Early Start Time For Mini Dwarfs This Weekend

Saturday night July 14th, the mini dwarf heat race starting times have been moved forward to help create more race time to complete the scheduled events. Heat races for mini dwarfs will start at 4:30pm sharp. With the enlarged car count planned for Saturday, this adjustment will help prevent the need to shorten any races.

Racing Returns This Saturday Night

Racing returns this Saturday night after a week off. IMCA Modifieds, street stocks, american stocks, mini stcoks and the mini dwarfs will all be in action this Saturday night July 14th. Gates open at 4:00pm with racing getting under way at 6:00pm. General admission is $10.00  Kids 6-12 $5.00  5 and under will be admitted FREE. For FREE text messaging information about the Speedway, text bakospeedway to 84483.

June 30th 2012 Race Results

IMCA Modifieds (32 cars) A Main 1. #2H Bobby Hoggue IV 2. #198 Robby Sawyer 3. #M2 Danny Lauer 4. #11x Kyle Heckman 5. #222 Gary Dutton 6. #24 Roger Holder 7. #6 Shawn Calderwood 8. #1P Scott Pounds 9. #51B Bryan Clark 10. #51 Jason Bannister 11. #15B Brad Pounds 12. #3R Ryan Lauer 13. #101 Randall Davis 14. #38s Nick Sylvester 15. #07x Troy Morris Jr 16. #87B Buck Cox 17. #22c Michael Johnson 18. #11 Rick Childress [...]

Malcolm wins Inaugural Richie McGowan Memorial race

By Matt Martz Special to The Californian The Bakersfield Californian One of the top competitors in the Hobby Stock division, Norco’s Johnny Malcolm reeled in Bakersfield’s Clint Reichenback on lap 23 of the 32-lap Inaugural Richie McGowan Memorial, and held on for the win in front of a jam-packed Bakersfield Speedway on Saturday night. Malcolm’s win earned him a check for $600. He took third in his heat before capturing the 32-lap feature after starting in second position and held off hard-charging [...]

Richie McGowan Memorial This Saturday Night

Saturday Night June 30th, Richie McGowan Memorial 32. IMCA Modifieds, Hobby Stocks, American Stocks and our annual Salute to America Fireworks Extravaganza. Gates open at 4:00pm  Racing at 6:00pm. General admission $18.00  kids 6-12 $7.00  5 and under FREE.

June 23, 2012 Race Results

IMCA Modifieds (18 cars) A Main 1. #198 Robby Sawyer 2. #1P Scott Pounds 3. #222 Gary Dutton 4. #38s Nick Sylvester 5. #25v Josh Vogt 6. #15B Brad Pounds 7. #2J Justin Schweitzer 8. #51B Bryan Clark 9. #97 Jay Marks 10. #22c Michael Johnson 11. #5 Brett Bennett 12. #5w Larry Wise 13. #24 Roger Holder 14. #4 Joey Yantis 15. #14B Steve Boles 16. #11 Rick Childress Jr 17. #2L Larry Hood 18. #29x Scott Gatson Sport Mods (18 cars) A Main 1. #74 Wayne Dotson 2. #2 Darrell Hood 3. #82 Randy Scwheitzer 4. #7D Loren De Armond 5. #40 Nick Spainhoward 6. #122 Taylor Paddock 7. #9J Jordan Hagar 8. #78 Justin Tuey 9. #61 [...]

Sawyer dominates IMCA Modified feature

  BY MIKE GRIFFITH Californian staff writer mgriffith@bakersfield.com   Robby Sawyer showed his cards in his heat race and when it came time to lay them on the table in the IMCA Modified main event, no one could beat his hand.   Sawyer dominated his heat race early Saturday night at Bakersfield Speedway, and three hours later, he was the class of the field in the feature event on the third-mile clay oval.   Sawyer edged past Scott Pounds to take the lead on the 12th [...]

Saturday Night June 23rd

Saturday night June 23rd. Modifieds, Sport Mods, American Stocks, Mini Stocks, NMRA Midgets. Gates at 4:00pm Racing at 6:00pm. General admission $10.00 Kids 6-12 $5.00 5 and under FREE. http://audioboo.fm/boos/857844-june-23-2012

June 16th 2012 Race Results

Late Models (18 Cars) A Main 1. #32B Clay Daly 2. #5K Mike Kirby 3. #7 Mike Johnson 4. #10N Robert Sanders 5. #22 Jason Selvidge 6. #29 Andy Obertello 7. #c9 Chad Reichenbach 8. #12 Ron Bartels 9. #17 Larry Childress 10. #8 John Lowry 11. #96 Carla Laney 12. #5x Dino Napier 13. #75 Tommy Malcolm 14. #1N Mike Corwin 15. #D1 Devin Crockett 16. #77 Bill Bartels 17. #53 David Spears DNS #36 Larry Brown Hobby Stocks (23 Cars) A Main 1. #11 Chad Johnson 2. #2x Jimmy Irwin 3. #04 Tom Manzella 4. #22D Ryan Daves 5. #78 Ralph Cooke 6. #9J Jordan Hagar 7. #37 Aaron Stewart 8. #23 Dylan Hagar 9. [...]

Daly races to 30-lap Late Model win at Speedway

  BY STEPHEN LYNCH Special to The Californian   On a night where there was speed to be found in multiple grooves around Bakersfield Speedway, it was the bottom that proved to be a winner for Clay Daly during the Late Model feature race on Saturday night. Sticking to the low line almost exclusively, Daly won the 30-lap Late Model feature, passing Mike Corwin with 2 laps left to get the win on the third-mile Clay oval.       Daly led for 16 laps. Kirby went around [...]